Faith and trust


Who demonstrates more faith and exercises more trust…a bungee jumper or the average Christian?

I am not going to answer for all my fellow Christians. I can only answer for myself. Sadly, the answer is the bungee jumper.

What about you?

Consider your answer carefully. Remember, God is omniscient. He already knows your answer. God wants you to discover it for yourself. Years ago, a popular margarine commercial had the catchline, “It’s not nice to fool Mother Nature.” Same thing applies to God.

A bungee jumper leaps off bridges and other high structures with a rubber cord attached to his ankles. He’s hoping the cord with stop his descent before he hits the ground, water or air mattress. That takes a lot of faith and trust.

I have questions. How does the jumper know the cord isn’t frayed? What if the attendant didn’t securely attach the cord? Is the cord shorter than the distance between the jumper and the ground? If any one of these – and a whole host of others not mentioned – go wrong, it’s bad news for the jumper.

I don’t demonstrate that level of faith and trust in my Christian walk.

Pastor Rusty Coram at New Hope Church wrapped up his teaching on the Lord’s Prayer this morning. Here’s the passage he preached on…

“For yours is the kingdom, and the power and the glory forever. Amen.” (Matthew 6:13 NIV).

Making God’s will a priority is a must. I need to get out of my comfort zone and go to where God is calling me or needs me.  Jesus demonstrated that. In Capernaum, Jesus tells his disciples that they must “go on to other towns.” (Mark 1:38 NLT) Jesus knew God didn’t want him to sit on his laurels in Capernaum. There was work to do elsewhere. Jesus knew he was sent to carry out God’s will. (John 6:38)

I needn’t worry about having the resources to carry out God’s will. The parables of the feeding of the 5,000 shows me God will provide. This is an important thought to remember. Why? Because Jesus did this miracle not one but twice. Both times he only had about enough food to feed me lunches for a month. Yet, he fed more than 9,000 men. Adding women and children, the number is probably more than 36,000. (Matthew 14:13-21; 15:32-39)

Finally, I need to make God’s honor my goal. Glorify God by doing His will. By being the Christian He wants me to be. With faith; with trust.

I’ve just started reading Francis Chan’s “Crazy Love” for the men’s group I attend. Two passages in the book address how Christians are falling short. The first came in the Forward written by worship leader Chris Tomlin:

“Isn’t it interesting that in Acts 11, at the end of verse 26, it says, ‘The disciples were called Christians first in Antioch.’ What I find interesting is the simple thought that the Christians didn’t name themselves. But rather, they were called (or named) ‘Christians’ by those watching their lives. I wonder if it would be the same today. Could someone look at your life or look at my life and name me a Christian? A humbling question for sure.”

Second, Chan writes about this in the preface: “I think it’s far too easy to blame the American church without acknowledging that we are each part of the church and therefore responsible. But I think we all feel deeply, even if we haven’t voiced it, that the church in many ways is not doing well.”

Ouch. On both accounts for me.

So, I’m going to start living my life with faith and with trust. When compared to bungee jumpers, I want people to view them as the faithless and trustless ones. Not me.

 I think God is happy with my decision. How do I know? Subtly in a way the faithless would say is serendipity – from a song in my Christian playlist playing from my iPhone. It was “I Need You” by Jeni Varnadeau. This was the first contemporary Christian song I can remember hearing. I saw the video on a Christian cable channel shortly after becoming a Christian while stationed in Montana. I think it shows how God likes how I’m going back to the beginning.

“What this all comes down to is,
I need you.”

Thank you, God. With faith. With trust. With You.

2 thoughts on “Faith and trust

  1. Another wonderful blog, Russ!

    I will admit that, while I have taken leaps of faith in the past, sometimes they were not taken without consternation. Getting to the point where there is absolutely no hesitation is a goal of mine.

    Thanks for posting this!

  2. Thanks for sharing your heart.

    The comparison to bungee jumpers is interesting. Bungee jumpers are risk takers (there’s a psychological term, but I forget what it is.) Bungee jumping is sensational. Personally, the last think I think the church of Jesus Christ needs as more sensationalism.

    Those of us who are Christ followers need to accept the challenge of living by faith and seeking God’s kingdom and His righteousness. Sometimes my faith walk demands a leap of faith. Most often it demands a daily commitment to live a life pleasing to God.

    Some pretty cool things happen when I am looking for those “God moments” as I daily commit my life to pleasing Him.

    It is easy to be critical of “the church” and there is no future in being naive about our shortcomings. However, let’s not forget the church is God’s idea and the bride for His son. He is faithful to complete what He has begun. And He will.

    Keep putting you faith into words.

Leave a Reply

