A pleasant surprise


Unexpected pleasures are the best.

Such as discovering $20 in the back of your wallet that you didn’t know was there.

Or receiving a kudo for doing a good job on something you are passionate about.

Or finding a out-of-the way bakery that’s special.

I experienced the latter Thursday. It was The Swiss Bakery and Pastry Shop in Annandale. I never knew it was here. The young lady behind the counter said they get that a lot.

I’ve lived in the Washington area for the past 10 years and over three years previously. That’s more than 13 years. I used to live less than five miles from this place. I drove near it while on Braddock Road or the Beltway. Amazing. It’s not as if I live a hermit life.

How did I find it?

I had an interview this morning. No, not a job interview. It was an interview to get accepted into the Fellows Program at the C.S. Lewis Institute. Using Google Maps, I confirmed the institute’s location. The map indicated a shopping center across the street. It listed the bakery. Since I always get to places way too early, what a great way to pass the time. (I live by the Vince Lombardi quote, “If you’re early, your are on time; if you are on time, you are late; if you are late, you are forgotten.”)

Boy, am I glad I stopped by! No better way to start out the day than with a Swiss mocha coffee and kirsch strudel. I love these kinds of places, and loved the coffee and strudel. I’m now trying to figure out how I can stop by there more often. The pastries in the were calling my name…Russ, Russ, surely you want that rum ball or that dark chocolate mousse cake. What about an eclair or two?

How did the interview go? Get back with me in mid-May. I’m always afraid of jinxing myself.

What out-of-the-way places are you missing out on? Go find out.

One thought on “A pleasant surprise

  1. Good luck, Russ! I’ll have to look up the C.S. Lewis Institute. I am familiar with the writer but not the institute. Sounds like literary utopia, though :-).

    The bakery goods sound decadent! While I wish I could partake of the sweets, my hips are thankful that we do not live close. 😛

Leave a Reply

