Trusting God and my job


It’s been a long time since I’ve written. Haven’t felt like I had much to say. I was surprised with the burst of writing around the April timeframe. Then, it tapered off to nothing.

Seems like effective writing needs something compelling to write about. I haven’t had anything.

Until now.

I’m facing layoff at the end of the month. The government agency my company had a contract with chose to exercise the option year but not fund the team I was a part of. I have until the end of the month to find a job, either within or outside the company.

Nothing like an impending deadline to quicken one’s pulse. I fill my days with web searches for jobs, creating profiles on companies’ career sites, attending job fairs and tweaking my resume.

My days remind me of Bill Murray’s weather forecaster in “Groundhog Day.” Every day is the same. Except, I have a golden retriever named Brinkley instead of a groundhog, and Sonny and Cher don’t serenade me in the morning — things are looking up!

Trying to keep a positive attitude. Surely, there must be something in Washington, D.C., for an experienced Air Force public affairs retiree. A voice inside my head there must be, and quite calling me Shirley.

My faith is comforting right now. I’m relying on the story of Joseph. Details are in Genesis. The short of it is his brother’s sold him off to slavery. He ended up in Egypt. He was working in a good home when he was wrongly accused of sexual assault and imprisoned. Why was God doing this to him, Joseph must have thought. He never lost faith, however. He later became second in charge in Egypt and had people coming to him, bowing and begging for food. Even his brothers, as two dreams of his foretold several years before.

I’m also relying on God’s promises:

Keep your life free from love of money, and be content with what you have, for he has said, “I will never leave you nor forsake you.” (Hebrews 13:5, ESV)

For I know the plans I have for you, declares the LORD, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope. Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will hear you. You will seek me and find me, when you seek me with all your heart. I will be found by you, declares the LORD, and I will restore your fortunes and gather you from all the nations and all the places where I have driven you, declares the LORD, and I will bring you back to the place from which I sent you into exile. (Jeremiah 29:11-14, English Standard Version)

My faith and trust is with the LORD. The road may be rough, but He won’t forget me. And no, this doesn’t have anything to do with the so-called “Prosperity Gospel.” I don’t believe in that. I do believe God will take care of me. God doesn’t break promises; it’s mankind who breaks its promises to Him.

I don’t plan on it.

4 thoughts on “Trusting God and my job

  1. Sorry to hear about your trial but was encouraged by your expression of faith. Hope things go well for you and that I continue to view your testemony. Miss ya friend.

  2. God will provide you with a new position, remember he watches your journey, keep remaining proactive even if you have to volunteer or brush up on your educational skills. Stay busy, keep praying and maintaining your relationship with the Lord. Stay around positive friends and family, read encouraging books in the faith Joyce Meyers is one of my favorite authors there’s a book called Never Give Up !! I know God will open a new door for you we will always go through moments of questioning God when circumstances get rough I went through this. But God is faithful remember he knows when just remain proactive as you are and let him come through with the rest of the details. Lift up your head !!! Love Lisa Guzman

  3. Wow! I REALLY missed this! Have not been seeing your posts on FB (and that is how I normally come to read your blogs). Well, we know the rest of the story (from the time you posted this) as it is now February. Guess what? God kept you! You all are doing just fine :-). That is a blessing!

Leave a Reply

